ARA Tours

About us?

ARA Tours was founded in 1993 by Swiss partners. We are a leading DMC that guarantees high quality standards and who specializes in original and sustainable travel solutions for individual visitors, small groups and incentive trips, both in Costa Rica and in neighboring countries such as Nicaragua and Panama. We offer support 24 hours, 7 days a week. We have the maximum degree of sustainability granted by the Costa Rican Tourist Board, and proudly Carbon Neutral awarded by Earth University on November 2nd, 2018. ARA Tours even has strategic alliances with carriers and our polyglot team offers fast and accurate responses to quotes and full support. Do you want to make your dream trip come true? Contact us!

Our Strenghts (USP)


We strongly believe that tour operators and travel agencies can successfully compete against OTAs and online booking platforms if they are able to deliver destination know- how, tailor-made products, personalized service and added values. Technology speeds up processes and makes our work more efficient, but at the end of the day tourism is people business. Our business model is focusing on this needs, merging technology and personal service.

Here are our strengths

  • We are a solid and stable company, which has managed to maintain itself and assist our clients during the COVID-19 pandemic crisis.
  • Our solidity allowed us to meet the financial commitments for our suppliers and collaborators.
  • We have hygiene and health protocols to ensure the health safety of our customers.
  • Liability insurance
  • Multilingual Sales Team– Assisting you with all your needs
  • Expert country and product knowledge – Directly from the destination and always up to date
  • Regular destination training – Live in your office, on fam trips or by webinar
  • Rapid response times
  • Very diverse and flexible product– You will find the right product for all type of clients
  • Specialized products for niches– Biking, hiking, golf, birding, barrier-free traveling, wellness
  • Participation in the most important Travel Trade Shows.
  • All products online oncom – Structured content such as texts, pictures, videos and rates
  • Brochure page generator on Latinconnect.com – With just a click you generate PDF brochure pages of each product with your logo
  • Online Travel Planner on Latinconnect.com – Quick quotations and generation of offers
  • Centralized, cross-country tour operating – In cooperation with our partner agencies of Latinconnect.com
  • Detailed travel documentation – online and as print version
  • High quality operating – Extra space in buses, selection of best guides, added values
  • 24/7 accessibility with extended opening hours and emergency phone line
  • Pick-up service for guests at the airport by multilingual tour guides
  • Quick and fair handling of any possible complaint right on spot
  • High customer satisfaction – 96% of our clients rate the organization of their tour good or very good
  • Certificate for Sustainable Tourism (CST), Level 5 – Your guests have a positive impact on Costa Rica’s society and environment
  • On June 29th 2020, we received the Carbon Neutrality Plus award from the Climate Change Bureau at its highest level, complying with all the parameters established by the Carbon Neutral Country Programme 2.0.

Mision

ARA Tours develops memorable and sustainable products of high quality in Costa Rica and its neighboring countries, sells them through classic or digital channels and operates tours with a high level of service and added value.

Vision

ARA Tours is recommended by all its clients as a leading incoming agency in Costa Rica, for its high quality and relevant product, helpful employees, efficient processes, reliability and sustainability.

Values

  • Quality
  • Innovation
  • Relevance
  • Professionalism
  • Reliability
  • Respect
  • Sustainability
  • Responsibility

History


A retro perspective from Daniel Küng, co-owner and President of ARA Tours

We need new and innovative travel destinations for our catalog! That was the challenge I received as a product manager from my Swiss employer. During my research, Costa Rica turned up, a country that was still quite unknown at the time, but still highly praised by backpackers.

So in May 1993 I took a flight to San José to get a better idea of the country. I had already traveled to many countries around the world through my job and immediately noticed: Costa Rica is a very special country. The positive attitude towards life of the people, the unbelievable diversity of nature, the climate and above all the respect of the people for each other and for nature convinced me so much that I decided without hesitation to make Costa Rica my new home.

A former expatriate Swiss friend had just founded a travel agency called ARA Tours in San José and suggested that I, as a tourism specialist, could turn it into an incoming agency.

That sounded perfect!

Somewhat naively, I packed my bags in January 1994 and moved to Costa Rica. In the meantime, a former school colleague of mine, Roland Ayer, allied himself with us while he was traveling through Latin America. He was given the job of turning a cardboard box full of bills and receipts into decent bookkeeping. Soon after, the previous owner withdrew from the project and Roland and I began the journey to make ARA Tours a successful company.

Roland's excellent skills in finance, software programming and logistics as well as my tourism background with in-depth knowledge of the European travel industry have complemented each other perfectly from the start. We focused on quality, individual tourism, top customer service and efficient processes. The internal development of the reservation software TISP was a milestone and brought us important advantages for the efficient processing of bookings.

The timing of our start couldn't have been better. Costa Rica soon developed into an insider tip and we were allowed to actively participate in the tourist development of the destination by actively working in various organizations. It is thanks to the exemplary cooperation between the Costa Rican tourist board ICT and these private organizations that Costa Rica has always pursued a clear vision and strategy of a sustainable tourism concept and is therefore a global example of this today.

Until shortly before the turn of the millennium, we were a small company with around 10 employees. Despite the growing popularity of Costa Rica, the country remained a niche destination and our advertising budgets were very modest. So we looked for a solution to show more presence on the market and therefore founded the Latincoming Alliance (today Latinconnect) with other agencies from our neighboring countries in 1999.

Little did we know that this strategic step would be extremely important for the future. In the beginning we mainly used synergies in marketing and carried out cross-border trips. The joint activities soon resulted in more bookings. With the onset of digitization in tourism, we have long since been developing our own software and, thanks to Latinconnect, can keep pace with the rapid development.

From the turn of the millennium things went uphill and ARA Tours developed into a leading destination management company in Costa Rica with around 80 employees. Further milestones were the CST certification as a sustainable company since 2010, the achievement of climate neutrality since 2018 and the active participation in the development of new direct flights from Europe by British Airways, Edelweiss, Lufthansa, KLM and Air France. The honor of cutting the opening ribbon for Edelweiss Air's maiden flight to Zurich was a truly emotional moment!

In the meantime, great employees have developed into new managers and we have been able to distribute the responsibility on other shoulders. Today, Sandra Haun (Commercial Director), Adriana Brenes (Product & Marketing Manager), Christine Pohnitzer (Customer Experience Manager) and Patrick Di Martino (IT Director) are part of the management. At this point, a big thank you to this great team!

And then came March 2020 and the unspeakable corona crisis. From one day to the next we had to somehow bring hundreds of guests home and organize home offices for all employees. Thousands of bookings had to be canceled or rebooked. Then came this eerie calm: zero bookings, no flights in the sky, closed borders and no perspective. It became apparent that the crisis would last longer than we first hoped and that the state in Costa Rica would have no financial means for aid. So we were on our own. It was a dark time.

But thanks to a fantastic team and financial reserves, we managed this dry spell and fought our way back.

Einstein coined the following sentence: A crisis is the greatest blessing that can happen to us because it always brings progress.

With this in mind, we look forward to the future!

Daniel Küng
Co-owner of ARA Tours

Contact Information

WhatsApp: +506-8893-3863
Phone: +506-2232-0400
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Address

Apdo 799 – 1007
San José, Costa Rica

Licenced by the Costa Rican Tourist Board: Lic ICT OT 294

Liability insurance: Instituto Costarricense de Seguros (INS) Coverage: Territory of the Republic of Costa Rica

Send us an email

Please write your name.
Please write your email.
Invalid Input
Invalid Input

Refresh Invalid Input
Derechos Reservados - ARA Agencia de Viajes Internacional S.A © 2021

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.

ARA Tours

Über uns?

ARA Tours wurde 1993 von Schweizer Partnern gegründet. Wir sind eine führende DMC, die hohe Qualitätsstandards garantiert und sich auf originelle und nachhaltige Reiselösungen für Einzelbesucher, kleine Gruppen und Incentive-Reisen spezialisiert, sowohl in Costa Rica als auch in den Nachbarländern wie Nicaragua und Panama. Wir bieten Unterstützung 24 Stunden, 7 Tage die Woche. Wir haben den höchsten Nachhaltigkeitsgrad, der vom costaricanischen Tourismusinstitut ICT vergeben wird, und sind stolz darauf, dass wir von der Universität Earth am 2. November 2018 als " CO2-neutral" ausgezeichnet wurden. ARA Tours hat sogar strategische Allianzen mit Fluggesellschaften und unser mehrsprachiges Team bietet schnelle und genaue Antworten auf Angebote und volle Unterstützung. Möchten Sie Ihre Traumreise wahr werden lassen? Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Unsere Stärken (USP)


Wir glauben sehr stark daran, dass Reiseveranstalter und Reiseagenturen erfolgreich gegen Online-Reiseagenturen und Online-Buchungsplattformen im Wettbewerb stehen können, solange sie im Stande sind Destinationswissen, maßgeschneiderte Produkte, personalisierten Service und ergänzende Werte anbieten zu können. Die Technologie beschleunigt Prozesse und bewirkt, dass unsere Arbeit effizienter ist, dennoch ist am Ende des Tages der Tourismus ein Geschäft zwischen Personen. Unser Arbeitsmodell ist genau auf diese Bedürfnisse fokussiert, indem es Technologie und personalisierten Service zusammenschmelzt.

Hier sind unsere Stärken

  • Wir sind eine solide Firma, die alle Gäste, die sich im Moment der Verschärfung der Krise vor Ort befanden und nicht zuletzt sich selbst  sicher durch die COVID-19 Krise geführt hat.
  • Dank unserer stabilen Finanzsituation konnten wir Verbindlichkeiten gegenüber Leistungsträgern und Mitarbeitern pünktlich erfüllen.
  • Um die Gesundheit unserer Gäste sicherzustellen haben wir alle offiziellen Hygieneprotokolle in unserer Gästebetreuung umgesetzt.
  • Haftpflichtversicherung
  • Mehrsprachiges Verkaufsteam– Hilfestellung bei all Ihren Bedürfnissen
  • Expertenwissen vom Land (Landexpertise) und Produktkenntnisse – Direkt vor Ort und immer auf dem neuesten Stand
  • Fortlaufendes Destinationstraining – Live in Ihrem Büro, auf Fam-Trips oder durch Webseminare
  • Schnelle Antwortzeiten.
  • Teilnahme an wichtigen touristischen Gewerbemessen.
  • Sehr vielfältiges und flexibles Produkt – Sie werden das richtige Produkt für jede Art von Kunde finden.
  • Spezialisierte Produkte für Nischen – E-Bike und Fahrradtouren, Wandern, Golf, Vogelbeobachtung, Barrierefreies Reisen, Wellness
  • Alle Produkte sind online zu finden auf Latinconnect – Strukturierter Inhalt wie Texte, Bilder, Videos und Preise
  • Broschürengenerator auf Latinconnect – Mit nur einem Klick generieren Sie Ihre Broschürenseite als PDF von jedem Produkt mit Ihrem eigenen Logo.
  • Online Reiseplaner auf Latinconnect– Schnelle Quotierungen und die Herstellung von Angeboten.
  • Zentralisierte, länderübergreifende Reiseoperation… Operation der Reisen – in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partneragenturen von Latinconnect
  • Detaillierte Reiseunterlagen – Online und als Druckversion.
  • Hochwertige Operation – Extraplatz in Bussen, Auswahl der besten Reiseleiter, ergänzende Werte.
  • 24 Stunden 7 Tage die Woche Zugriff mit verlängerten Öffnungszeiten und Notfallrufnummer.
  • Abholservice mit mehrsprachigen Reiseleitern für Gäste am Flughafen
  • Schnelles und faires Handeln bei möglichen Beschwerden vor Ort
  • Hohe Kundenzufriedenheit – 96% unserer Kunden bewerten die Organisation Ihrer Reise mit Gut oder Sehr Gut
  • Tourismus-Nachhaltigkeitszertifikat (CST), Level 5 - Ihre Gäste haben einen positiven Einfluss auf Costa Ricas Gesellschaft und Umwelt
  • Am vergangenen 29. Juni erhielt ARA Tours seitens der Klimawandel-Direktion des Landes die Auszeichnung als CO2-neutrales Unternehmen Plus, die höchste Auszeichnung dieser Kategorie, als Bestätigung, dass alle Vorraussetzungen des Programms CO2-Neuralität 2.0 erfüllt werden.

Mission

ARA Tours entwickelt erlebnisreiche und nachhaltige Produkte von guter Qualität in Costa Rica und den Nachbarländern, vertreibt diese über klassische und digitale Kanäle und führt die Reisen mit einem hohen Serviceniveau und Mehrwert durch.

Vision

ARA Tours wird dank einem relevanten und qualitativ guten Produkt, hilfsbereiten Mitarbeitenden, effizienten Prozessen, hoher Zuverlässigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit von allen Kunden als führende Zielgebietsagentur in Costa Rica empfohlen.

Unsere Werte

  • Qualität
  • Innovation
  • Relevanz
  • Professionalität
  • Zuverlässigkeit
  • Respekt
  • Nachhaltigkeit
  • Verantwortung

Geschichte


Eine Retroperspektive von Daniel Küng, Mitinhaber und Präsident von ARA Tours:

Wir brauchen neue und innovative Reiseziele für unseren Katalog! Das war die Herausforderung, die ich als Produktmanager seitens meines Schweizer Arbeitgebers erhielt. Bei meiner Recherche tauchte Costa Rica auf, ein damals noch recht unbekanntes Land, aber dennoch sehr gelobt von Rucksacktouristen.

Im Mai 1993 reiste ich also nach San José, um mir eine bessere Idee vom Land machen zu können. Ich war durch meinen Beruf damals bereits in vielen Ländern der Erde unterwegs gewesen und merkte sofort: Costa Rica ist ein ganz spezielles Land. Die positive Lebenseinstellung der Menschen, die unglaubliche Naturvielfalt, das Klima und vor allem auch der Respekt der Menschen untereinander und gegenüber der Natur haben mich derart überzeugt, dass ich ohne gross zu zögern mich entschloss, Costa Rica zu meinem neuen Zuhause zu machen.

Ein früherer expatriierter Schweizer und Freund hatte eben gerade eine Reiseagentur namens ARA Tours in San José gegründet und schlug vor, dass ich doch als Touristiker daraus eine Incoming-Agentur machen könnte.

Dies klang perfekt!

Etwas naiv packte ich meine Koffer im Januar 1994 und zog nach Costa Rica. In der Zwischenzeit verbündete sich uns während seiner Durchreise durch Lateinamerika ein früherer Schulkollege von mir, Roland Ayer. Ihm wurde die Aufgabe erteilt, eine Kartonkiste voller Rechnungen und Quittungen in eine anständige Buchhaltung umzuwandeln. Schon bald danach zog sich der frühere Eigentümer zurück aus dem Projekt und Roland und ich traten die Reise an, ARA Tours zu einem erfolgreichen Unternehmen zu machen.

Rolands exzellente Fähigkeiten in Sachen Finanzen, Softwareprogrammierung und Logistik als auch mein touristischer Hintergrund mit tiefgehendem Wissen über die Europäische Reisebranche haben sich perfekt seit Beginn miteinander komplementiert. Wir konzentrierten uns auf Qualität, individuellen Tourismus, top Kundenservice und effiziente Prozesse. Die interne Entwicklung der Reservierungssoftware TISP war ein Meilenstein und brachte uns wichtige Vorteile für eine effiziente Bearbeitung der Buchungen.

Der Zeitpunkt unseres Starts hätte besser nicht sein können. Schon bald entwickelte sich Costa Rica zum Geheimtipp und wir durften tatkräftig bei der touristischen Entwicklung der Destination mitwirken, indem wir uns in verschiedenen Organisationen aktiv betätigten. Es ist der vorbildlichen Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem costaricanischen Fremdenverkehrsamt ICT und diesen privaten Organisationen zu verdanken, dass Costa Rica immer eine klare Vision und Strategie eines nachaltigen Tourismuskonzepts verfolgte und heute deshalb ein weltweites Musterbeispiel dafür ist.

Bis kurz vor der Jahrtausendwende waren wir ein kleines Unternehmen mit rund 10 Mitarbeitern. Trotz der wachsenden Beliebtheit Costa Ricas blieb das Land eine Nischendestination und unsere Werbebudgets waren sehr bescheiden. Also suchten wir nach einer Lösung um am Markt mehr Präsenz zu zeigen und gründeten deshalb 1999 mit anderen Agenturen aus unseren Nachbarländern die Allianz Latincoming (heute Latinconnect).

Wir konnten noch nicht ahnen, dass dieser strategische Schritt für die Zukunft enorm wichtig würde. Anfangs nutzen wir vor allem Synergien im Marketing und führten länderübergreifende Reisen durch. Die gemeinsamen Aktivitäten wirkten sich schon bald in mehr Buchungen aus. Mit dem Einsetzen der Digitalisierung in der Touristik, entwickeln wir inzwischen aber längst auch eigene Software und können dank Latinconnect mit der rasend schnellen Entwicklung Schritt halten.

Ab dem Jahrtausendwechsel ging es dann steil bergauf und ARA Tours entwickelte sich zu einer führenden Zielgebietsagentur in Costa Rica mit rund 80 Mitarbeitenden. Weitere Meilensteine waren die CST-Zertifizierung zum nachhaltigen Unternehmen seit 2010, das Erreichen der Klimaneutralität seit 2018 und die aktive Mitarbeit beim Aufbau neuer Direktflüge aus Europa von British Airways, Edelweiss, Lufthansa, KLM und Air France. Die Ehre, das Eröffnungsband für den Erstflug der Edelweiss Air nach Zürich durchschneiden zu dürfen war ein wahrlich emotionaler Moment!

Inzwischen entwickelten sich tolle Mitarbeiter zu neuen Führungskräften und wir konnten die Verantwortung auf weitere Schultern verteilen. Heute zählen Sandra Haun (Commercial Director), Adriana Brenes (Product & Marketing Manager), Christine Pohnitzer (Customer Experience Manager) und Patrick Di Martino (IT Director) zur Geschäftsleitung. An dieser Stelle ein herzliches Dankeschön an dieses super Team!

Und dann kam der März 2020 und die unsägliche Corona-Krise. Von einem Tag auf den anderen mussten wir hunderte Gäste irgendwie nach Hause bringen und Home-Office für alle Mitarbeiter organisieren. Tausende Buchungen mussten storniert oder umgebucht werden. Danach kam dann diese gespenstische Ruhe: Null Buchungen, keine Flüge am Himmel, geschlossene Grenzen und keine Perspektive. Es zeichnete sich ab, dass die Krise länger als erhofft dauern würde und dass der Staat in Costa Rica keine finanziellen Mittel für Hilfeleistungen haben würde. Wir waren also auf uns alleine gestellt. Es war eine dunkle Zeit.

Aber dank einem fantastischen Team und finanziellen Reserven schafften wir diese Durststrecke und kämpften uns zurück.

Einstein prägte folgenden Satz: Eine Krise ist der grösste Segen, der uns passieren kann, denn sie bringt immer Fortschritt.

In diesem Sinne freuen wir uns auf die Zukunft!

Daniel Küng
Mitinhaber ARA Tours

Senden Sie uns eine E-Mail

Please write your name.
Please write your email.
Invalid Input
Invalid Input

Refresh Invalid Input
Derechos Reservados - ARA Agencia de Viajes Internacional S.A © 2021

Wir nutzen Cookies auf unserer Website. Einige von ihnen sind essenziell für den Betrieb der Seite, während andere uns helfen, diese Website und die Nutzererfahrung zu verbessern (Tracking Cookies). Sie können selbst entscheiden, ob Sie die Cookies zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass bei einer Ablehnung womöglich nicht mehr alle Funktionalitäten der Seite zur Verfügung stehen.